Editing from 16mm film

A general forum for all messages that don't quite fit into the other forums.

Moderators: Admin, Moderator Team

Mojo357

Editing from 16mm film

Post by Mojo357 »

Okay, I'm going to sound like an idiot, here, but I'm new at this so...
I bought a 16mm camera and was wondering how you would edit the film (once the footage is shot). Would I transfer it to a diff. medium and then edit it on the pc? And then transfer it to 35mm stock, for festivals?
Also, I've searched online and diff. companies are offering 16mm transf. to 35mm for only 145.00 an hr. How long would it take to transfer a feature?

Thanks,
Mojo
Pie_man

Post by Pie_man »

you can use a telecine

you project the imafe onto it then record the image through into a camera ....

such as a video/digital camera (which will allow you to record to computer) or maybee a 35mm camera but that might be hard

http://search.ebay.com/search/search.dl ... y=telecine

why film with 16mm if you want it 35mm?

or you could edit it the old fashioned way with a splicer and some glue ... but thats very dodgy you could ruin the film

[Edited on 24-8-2003 by Pie_man]
Mojo357

Post by Mojo357 »

Pie_man,

Thanks for the input. I actually looked into this and found that it's complicated. Do you have any experience using this machine? Also, I posted this same questionm, and have gotten responses, in the video editing thread.

Mojo
Pie_man

Post by Pie_man »

I dont have any experience with the telecine ... but from what i have seen its basicly just a mirror with a lens

I suggest recording the film youself ... you will save a tonn of money from those overcharging converters and its instant!!

here is a picture of one in action i found on ebay ( please note this one is a cheapo super-8 one)
projector at the side video/dv at the front

basicly you project in one end and capture with a video/dv camera in the other