Starting Filming But Need To Learn More

A general forum for all messages that don't quite fit into the other forums.

Moderators: Admin, Moderator Team

Bent_Barrel

Starting Filming But Need To Learn More

Post by Bent_Barrel »

I have started filming a project and have watched as many films like it as I could to learn different things that work and look well together. Ive researched for a while and think Im ready to start. I filmed about an hour of video and about one minute was acceptable to me for use as being pretty good. Id like to get better than mediocre if possible but hey its my very first time filming and editing. I might go as far as throwing in a green screen part lol...

I am looking for somewhere that might be a good reference book or site for things like scene length, fading to scenes, cutting to scenes etc. Does anyone know where i might find something with specifics like that?
foxwood
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran

Post by foxwood »

First a few questions, what type of movie is this, and such.

Ok books mean cr**, you can get a film making for dummies or somthing from a library and then just copy the good pages, it all comes down to working with it in the comp to get a feel for it. Many of thsoe have no real set legth, a book would give you somthing but thats all bullshit, don't follow what they say it stifles creativity. But they are good for vocabulary, and door stops.
Bent_Barrel

Post by Bent_Barrel »

Its somewhere between a documentary, a how to, and an adventure I suppose. Nothing like anything that I know of off the top of my noggin but why not do it anyway? Basically Im curious about how long to fade in and out from black outs or tranformations between scenes etc. Ok, like,

man is rolling about on fire from a distance

he stops and looks at something interesting in the distance (close up)

cuts to what the interest holding subject is