How Do You Fund Your Film???

A general forum for all messages that don't quite fit into the other forums.

Moderators: Admin, Moderator Team

El Brenty

How Do You Fund Your Film???

Post by El Brenty »

So how do you lot do it? Ornsack seems to have money to burn (Explode, launch into a plate glass window, or whatever other effect you can think of) on costumes and things - Fair enough, must look great in the finished result.

Other members seem to have spend 1000's of £ and $ on the latest in editing software, and stuff like that, so I ask - How do y'all afford it, and where'd ya raise the cash from?

How would suggest that a complete novice starting their first production raises the cash needed for the usual pay-offs to security guards in shopping centres, council filming permits, etc? And of course, all that beer you've gotta buy when you're discussing the filming!

After all, it's difficult to make a film entirely for free, especially if there's a plethora of effects!

Personally, I try to involve local businesses, and get them to contribute in return for advertising their businesses in some form in the films!

[Edited on 9-10-2003 by CamClub]
Moderating behind the bushes!
foxwood
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran

Post by foxwood »

prostitution.
No really beg barrow and steal. I can't say much because I'm super low budget. What I can say is a tip that Keven Smith has said a few times, and somthing I will end up trying at some point. Get a few credit cards and max them all out. Not safe, but all I can think of. Also look for cheep things or stuff that your friends own, so you can mold your film around the stuff you have. Like I do a bunch of sword films because my friend has a big a** sword collection. film outside when you can. Just try to never pay for anything, or don't pay a lot. While it is not legal just dl the new software.
Grant

Post by Grant »