Hard Drive/ Dropping Frames Problem

Capture hardware, software and techniques

Moderators: Admin, Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
Justin
Member
Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2003 2:56 am
Location: NY
Contact:

Hard Drive/ Dropping Frames Problem

Post by Justin » Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:25 pm

Hopefully someone can help with this, because my film is due on Friday, and I can't get this to work..

I have my main C drive on IDE channel one
then on my IDE channel 2 I have a dvd burner with an 80gb storage drive as teh slave..

I did this so I can transfer files between the two drives faster than if I had them set to master and slave on one channel..

now, everythings worked fine in the past...and now when I go to capture video to my 80gb drive, it drops every other frame....It doesn't on my C drive, but I don't have enough disc space on that one to capture everything too....I've tryed it with Premiere Pro and 6.5 and its still doing it....Does anyone know anything I can try? I tested it, and it said its getting a low cache speed of 3mb/s, when it should be getting 28mb/s...This is the same thing it did when I had it on the same IDE channel as my other drive, but all was fixed when I switched it over...

please someone help me...I really don't want to have to go out and buy a firewire drive just to finish this.
[img]http://www.hickskater.0catch.com/forum%20sig%20small.jpg[/img]

User avatar
Grant
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2982
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 3:24 am
Location: Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
Contact:

RE: Hard Drive/ Dropping Frames Problem

Post by Grant » Tue Jan 10, 2006 9:47 pm

If it works on C: then why don't you capture smaller portions and then transfer them to the other drive?

User avatar
Justin
Member
Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2003 2:56 am
Location: NY
Contact:

RE: Hard Drive/ Dropping Frames Problem

Post by Justin » Wed Jan 11, 2006 4:01 am

because
A: It takes like a halfhour to send over a file about 3gb,
B: most importantly, premiere can't access the video fast enough for some reason, so its all jittery even on playback when on my video drive. then basically freezes, while it desparatly tries to get all the data...

its screwed up, and I have no idea why....Im gonna go try to update the firmware, maybe it will do something.
[img]http://www.hickskater.0catch.com/forum%20sig%20small.jpg[/img]

User avatar
Raptor
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 1027
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:47 am
Location: Altoona, PA, USA

RE: Hard Drive/ Dropping Frames Problem

Post by Raptor » Wed Jan 11, 2006 8:23 am

Put the HD on the secondary channel as the master, and the burner as the slave. The master drive on teh channel provides the controller for both devices on that channel. The burner controller is most likely not designed to support HD throughput speeds...
The UNDERGROUND
[url]http://theundergroundtv.com[/url]
Music television for unsigned bands

User avatar
Justin
Member
Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2003 2:56 am
Location: NY
Contact:

RE: Hard Drive/ Dropping Frames Problem

Post by Justin » Wed Jan 11, 2006 1:26 pm

ok, I'll give it a try....The worst part is though, my cable isn't long enough to do that, so I guess Im gonna have to just let my hard drive dangle in the empty cd rom bay.
[img]http://www.hickskater.0catch.com/forum%20sig%20small.jpg[/img]

User avatar
windog
Forum Addict
Forum Addict
Posts: 528
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 2:44 pm
Contact:

RE: Hard Drive/ Dropping Frames Problem

Post by windog » Wed Jan 11, 2006 6:58 pm

ok,

control panal - system - hardware - device manager - expand and click on the drive you have the probs with - optimize for quick removal.

thats for XP if you need it for wins 98 let me know! good luck!
<a href="http://alexmassey.voice123.com">Alex Massey - voice over</a>

I will try to beat any other voice over quote!

User avatar
Matt
Webmaster
Webmaster
Posts: 627
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 10:28 am
Location: Bristol, England
Contact:

Post by Matt » Wed Jan 11, 2006 8:00 pm

Try enabling DMA if it is not already enabled. not sure how to do it but try google.

User avatar
Justin
Member
Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2003 2:56 am
Location: NY
Contact:

Post by Justin » Wed Jan 11, 2006 11:37 pm

DMA is enabled....

Its most likely the master/slave problem.....I seem to have trouble with the comp reconizing both devices when I have it hooked up any way different than this, so if worse comes to worse, I'll take the burner out completely until the projects done.

post my results in a little while
[img]http://www.hickskater.0catch.com/forum%20sig%20small.jpg[/img]

User avatar
SpyroClone
Member
Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 11:05 pm
Location: Evergreen, CO.

Post by SpyroClone » Thu Jan 12, 2006 2:51 am

I would say delete any unnecesary cr** off of your C: drive and do a virus scan...thats all that i can think to do
"If you don't know what you're doing you can still make it look good."
~Peter Jackson

User avatar
Justin
Member
Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2003 2:56 am
Location: NY
Contact:

Post by Justin » Thu Jan 12, 2006 4:44 am

ok, I tryed re-arranging the master/slave with the burner and hard drive almost everyway, moving the jumpers in all possible way....nothing, the comp wouldn't reconize them...so I took the burner completely off, and set the harddrive as the master with nothing else on that channel....works like a charm.....

so now I know what the problem is, I need to figure out how to assemble the burner and drive so both work well....I wanna set the drive as the slave to the C, but the cables aren't long enough on either drive....
[img]http://www.hickskater.0catch.com/forum%20sig%20small.jpg[/img]

User avatar
Adam
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 367
Joined: Sun May 26, 2002 7:20 pm

Post by Adam » Thu Jan 12, 2006 5:38 am

Your Drive might very fragmented try a defrag

nigel101
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 199
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 3:32 pm
Location: uk
Contact:

Post by nigel101 » Thu Jan 19, 2006 12:02 am

Is UMDA enabled? In the manger device.
Also is it IDE cable 133, higher better now adays its 150
Its best to keep your dvd/cd on one ide and all your harddrives on the other ide. Not mixed as they will slow down.
WWW.ALIENRISING.COM
[img]http://a745.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images01/20/m_06109da51426e24555193bf1d6acfb00.jpg[/img]
WWW.MAKINGTHEFILM.NET

User avatar
windog
Forum Addict
Forum Addict
Posts: 528
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 2:44 pm
Contact:

Post by windog » Tue Jan 24, 2006 8:46 pm

if enabling dma dosnt work, i would look at getting a new pc.
<a href="http://alexmassey.voice123.com">Alex Massey - voice over</a>

I will try to beat any other voice over quote!

OutcastJiob
Posting Freak
Posting Freak
Posts: 402
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 3:04 am
Location: California
Contact:

Post by OutcastJiob » Tue Jan 24, 2006 11:03 pm

. . . .why on earth would you replace your entire PC to fix a hard drive problem? Get a new hard drive, maybe, but replace the whole thing?! You must be joking!
People shouldn't be afraid of their governments. Governments should be afraid of their people.

User avatar
Justin
Member
Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2003 2:56 am
Location: NY
Contact:

Post by Justin » Wed Jan 25, 2006 10:16 pm

I said I fixed the problem up above, but whatever... The problem is fixed...I just have my c drive sort of dangling, so I hope it gets enough ventilation since its away from the fan...but its been a few weeks, and everything works fine, so I think it will be fine in the long run.


my advice to people who are looking to have it set up like me...

IDE 1 > Hard Drive
IDE 2 > Dvd Burner

FireWire > Hard Drive

that way all devices are masters, and all are fast enough to handle info between each other.
[img]http://www.hickskater.0catch.com/forum%20sig%20small.jpg[/img]

User avatar
windog
Forum Addict
Forum Addict
Posts: 528
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 2:44 pm
Contact:

Post by windog » Thu Jan 26, 2006 9:55 am

very good. Sorry, i did not see where you fixed it. (falling asleep at the mouse again!)
<a href="http://alexmassey.voice123.com">Alex Massey - voice over</a>

I will try to beat any other voice over quote!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests