Can anyone recommend a digital camcorder?

Capture hardware, software and techniques

Moderators: Admin, Moderator Team

reddragon

Can anyone recommend a digital camcorder?

Post by reddragon »

Hi,
first of all let me start off by saying this is an excellent website, i've just found it by searching on yahoo and it's exactly what i need.
i am 19 and am currently in my first year of study at the University of Wales, Bangor where i am studying History with Film Studies, which has turned out to be an excellent course. I've always wanted to be involved in film production.

I'm currently involved (in a small way) in the production of a cheesy zombie film called Dead Force (the director of this film has a website at http://www.roughcutpictures.20m.com/ which you may want to check out)

Next year we have to produce our own films from scratch as part of our course (whereas Dead Force is just for fun :P) and so i've decided to buy a camcorder to practice making short films over the summer. I write short stories and there's a few i'd like to adapt to screen.

So i'm looking for a digital camcorder (as i'm also somewhat of a computer expert and would like to edit my films on pc and put them onto DVD with my DVD-writer).....
can anyone recommend a good model?

I'm not looking for anything thats completely professional, but i would like one thats going to give me the kind of quality that would make my films look good on the big screens in our lecture theatres where we screen our films (i'm talking cinema size here)

It's got to be quite small, but i would put features over size - it's got to have useful features like a widescreen option.

I'm looking for something around £500, but cost is not really a factor either, just wait til the final student loan installment gets here and i could go higher!

So if anyone has any recommendations for a decent model of camcorder for around £500 for a first-time camcorder buyer, lets here them!
Anonymous

Post by Anonymous »