Dropped Frames While Uploading

Capture hardware, software and techniques

Moderators: Admin, Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
Zac
Posting Freak
Posting Freak
Posts: 280
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 10:26 am
Location: Tasmania, Australia

Dropped Frames While Uploading

Post by Zac » Mon Jul 30, 2007 4:42 am

my old camera does it when i upload video into adobe premier pro, but i figured thats cos its an old camera and plus its been broken a few times. so now i always just use my mini dv cam, and its been perfectly fine up until today when i was uploading from a shoot i did at my friends place, and it dropped a sh*tload of frames and also a few during an important shot which we only have one take.
it was on a brand new tape. does anyone know the cause of this pain-in-the-fucking-a** problem?
I like you, when the world is mine, your death shall be quick and painless.

Kentertainment
Forum Addict
Forum Addict
Posts: 799
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2004 1:32 am
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah

RE: Dropped Frames While Uploading

Post by Kentertainment » Mon Jul 30, 2007 6:47 am

Your computer may be either a.) low on GB or b.) low on RAM or c.) have too slow a processor.

Here area list of things you can do to help prevent this...

http://www.jakeludington.com/ask_jake/2 ... pture.html

User avatar
Ornsack
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1520
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2002 11:43 pm
Location: Bristol, England
Contact:

RE: Dropped Frames While Uploading

Post by Ornsack » Tue Jul 31, 2007 1:10 am

I use Windows Movie Maker for capture.

Sounds odd, but it's the only program I know that has never dropped frames in my experience
[url=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=loFABl-1Zcw]THE SALESMAN - YouTube[/url]

Kentertainment
Forum Addict
Forum Addict
Posts: 799
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2004 1:32 am
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah

RE: Dropped Frames While Uploading

Post by Kentertainment » Tue Jul 31, 2007 1:53 am

It never drops frames but it makes the files bigger than Texas!

User avatar
Gyro
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 1348
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2003 4:18 am
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Contact:

RE: Dropped Frames While Uploading

Post by Gyro » Tue Jul 31, 2007 1:58 am

And Texas is Gigantor compared to wherever Ornsack is from! (oh yeah, Bristol.. haha! Loser!)
@seanbagley

User avatar
Zac
Posting Freak
Posting Freak
Posts: 280
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 10:26 am
Location: Tasmania, Australia

RE: Dropped Frames While Uploading

Post by Zac » Tue Jul 31, 2007 7:22 am

Your computer may be either a.) low on GB or b.) low on RAM or c.) have too slow a processor.
well that pretty much explains it. my computer is running pretty low on memory at the moment. so ill have to delete previous raw footage from stuff i dont need.
thanks for the help.
I like you, when the world is mine, your death shall be quick and painless.

Kentertainment
Forum Addict
Forum Addict
Posts: 799
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2004 1:32 am
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah

RE: Dropped Frames While Uploading

Post by Kentertainment » Tue Jul 31, 2007 7:29 am

You could also buy an external hard-drive, they are getting really cheaper now. I bought an 80gb hard-drive for $80 a while ago, now you can get a 200gb hard-drive for that same price. If you do go with the external hard-drive option, make sure you get one that connects to your computer via firewire and not USB. Generally with editing it runs a lot fast on firewire, although mine is USB and it runs fine...I guess I just got lucky.

User avatar
rhys
Forum Addict
Forum Addict
Posts: 983
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 8:01 am
Location: Victoria, Australia

RE: Dropped Frames While Uploading

Post by rhys » Tue Jul 31, 2007 7:47 am

What's Wrong With You?!: filming
LMAO!!!! Self inflicting much?
Hide or fight for your life?

User avatar
Zac
Posting Freak
Posting Freak
Posts: 280
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 10:26 am
Location: Tasmania, Australia

RE: Dropped Frames While Uploading

Post by Zac » Tue Jul 31, 2007 7:58 am

You could also buy an external hard-drive, they are getting really cheaper now. I bought an 80gb hard-drive for $80 a while ago, now you can get a 200gb hard-drive for that same price. If you do go with the external hard-drive option, make sure you get one that connects to your computer via firewire and not USB. Generally with editing it runs a lot fast on firewire, although mine is USB and it runs fine...I guess I just got lucky.
way ahead of you. ive got a 250gb one for 100-150 AU$. although mines USB but it runs fine, even with editing i dont notice a difference from editing straight from my computers hard-drive. im re-uploading onto my external and so far no dropped frames, thanks heaps again.
I like you, when the world is mine, your death shall be quick and painless.

Kentertainment
Forum Addict
Forum Addict
Posts: 799
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2004 1:32 am
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah

RE: Dropped Frames While Uploading

Post by Kentertainment » Tue Jul 31, 2007 7:58 am

rhys wrote:LMAO!!!! Self inflicting much?
No.

User avatar
Ornsack
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1520
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2002 11:43 pm
Location: Bristol, England
Contact:

Re: RE: Dropped Frames While Uploading

Post by Ornsack » Wed Aug 01, 2007 1:14 am

Gyro wrote:And Texas is Gigantor compared to wherever Ornsack is from! (oh yeah, Bristol.. haha! Loser!)
Shhh.
[url=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=loFABl-1Zcw]THE SALESMAN - YouTube[/url]

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests