Is your editing computer connected to the 'net?

Post all your general non-film related PC and Mac stuff here.

Moderators: Admin, Moderator Team

Post Reply

Is you editing 'puter connected to the 'net?

Yes, my editing computer is connected to the internet
15
88%
No, I use a different computer for browsing the internet
2
12%
 
Total votes: 17

User avatar
kene555
Forum Addict
Forum Addict
Posts: 576
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 2:06 pm
Location: North East Ohio, USA
Contact:

Is your editing computer connected to the 'net?

Post by kene555 » Fri Jul 13, 2007 7:36 pm

Just wondering - is YOUR editing computer open to possible viruses and stuff? Mine used to be, as it was the family computer, then I saved up for my own.
CREATE FOR THE SAKE OF CREATING

http://www.neighborhoodstudios.com

User avatar
El Brenty
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2030
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2003 8:37 pm
Location: Esher, Surrey, Land Of Hope And Glory
Contact:

RE: Is your editing computer connected to the

Post by El Brenty » Fri Jul 13, 2007 9:15 pm

I have 5 computers on a LAN, and access to the internet is firewalled through a dual WAN router, which manages the 20MB cable broadband and 8MB copper wire (phone) broadband.

We have a strict policy regarding downloading and running unauthorised software, and also ensure that all software is fully licensed, and updated. We don't have virus software resident as a result, and this helps boost computer speed - It's incredible how much virus programs can slow everything down.

We perform a monthly virus purge on the computers - haven't detected a single virus in over 2 years, and last spyware was detected about 5 months ago.

One of the best ways of getting viruses is looking at dodgy websites! It's very unusual for them to creep in through the back door, especially if it's been properly firewalled.
Moderating behind the bushes!

User avatar
Zac
Posting Freak
Posting Freak
Posts: 280
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 10:26 am
Location: Tasmania, Australia

RE: Is your editing computer connected to the

Post by Zac » Sat Jul 14, 2007 1:34 am

yes. simply cos its the only computer ive got, if i had enough money id have one for my stuff and one for my video editing.
a bit over a year ago i was just getting into movies and i used to make these shitty little skits, but i had heaps of them and then the god-damn computer crashed and i lost them all.
I like you, when the world is mine, your death shall be quick and painless.

User avatar
rhys
Forum Addict
Forum Addict
Posts: 983
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 8:01 am
Location: Victoria, Australia

RE: Is your editing computer connected to the

Post by rhys » Sat Jul 14, 2007 3:00 am

Most of us don't have a computer that isn't hooked up to the internet. Its just inconvenient. When has anyone ever hacked a movie?
Hide or fight for your life?

Kentertainment
Forum Addict
Forum Addict
Posts: 799
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2004 1:32 am
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah

RE: Is your editing computer connected to the

Post by Kentertainment » Sat Jul 14, 2007 4:16 am

He isn't talking about people hacking into your movies. A computer with open internet access is more prone to viruses and spyware, which can crash your computers, making you lose all your movie data.

I use a laptop that is used by others in my family so I can't really stop them from accessing the internet. I have my internet turned off when I am editing and I put everything on an external hard-drive.

User avatar
rhys
Forum Addict
Forum Addict
Posts: 983
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 8:01 am
Location: Victoria, Australia

RE: Is your editing computer connected to the

Post by rhys » Sat Jul 14, 2007 4:38 am

Good idea. Or you could always do what CamClub said.
Hide or fight for your life?

User avatar
Zac
Posting Freak
Posting Freak
Posts: 280
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 10:26 am
Location: Tasmania, Australia

RE: Is your editing computer connected to the

Post by Zac » Sat Jul 14, 2007 8:01 am

well i just bought a 250gb external hard-drive today so i now feel a little more safe about my stuff.
I like you, when the world is mine, your death shall be quick and painless.

User avatar
rhys
Forum Addict
Forum Addict
Posts: 983
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 8:01 am
Location: Victoria, Australia

RE: Is your editing computer connected to the

Post by rhys » Sat Jul 14, 2007 8:13 am

Wicked. I saw a 300gb one for $150 somewhere and i wanted it but dad said no. We already have a 100gb external hard drive though. Dad knows nothing about prices.
Hide or fight for your life?

User avatar
angusware
Posting Freak
Posting Freak
Posts: 272
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 12:38 am

RE: Is your editing computer connected to the

Post by angusware » Sat Jul 14, 2007 11:33 am

although arrogant to say, yes it is because 'tis a Mac!

User avatar
foxwood
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 2446
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2003 8:20 pm
Location: Vrigina Commonwelth University
Contact:

RE: Is your editing computer connected to the

Post by foxwood » Sat Jul 14, 2007 12:08 pm

Yes because I don't have another computer, well I have a laptop (a mac) but its not up to editting snuff ie small hard drive and only imovie. If I had some cash laying around I would probably build myself an editting rig that was only conected to my home network but probably not the internet proper. And when it comes to losing data I tend to look at the bright side of it. I keep all my tapes and burn finished movies. But have a tendacy to never delete raw footage, and will keep messing with a movie after its "done" having something bad happon is not always a bad thing. Saying that its been a while since my computer got infected with something, and that happoned becuase I was downloading things that I shouldn't have been. :roll:

User avatar
Knightly
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 4:03 am
Location: MN, USA
Contact:

RE: Is your editing computer connected to the

Post by Knightly » Sat Jul 14, 2007 5:31 pm

I have a laptop and a desktop (along with the kids computers and the wifes laptop) on my network. My 2 machines are my editing stations. They do have net access. I am behind a firewall, but I'd been without one for the first 10 years on the internet. Not a single virus/worm. I'm on a mac. I was running anti-virus software and know what symptoms to look for as well. Not even during the Hong Kong worm in 1998 (targeted publishing by targeting image files...so don't whinny about no one attacking movies, you'd be pretty bummed if every bmp, jpg, tif and gif got overwritten with random data on your harddrive).
Low/No budget cinema that looks like a million Bucks!
---------------------------------------------------------
http://www.yafiunderground.com

User avatar
El Brenty
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2030
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2003 8:37 pm
Location: Esher, Surrey, Land Of Hope And Glory
Contact:

RE: Is your editing computer connected to the

Post by El Brenty » Sat Jul 14, 2007 11:36 pm

Indeed, most internet viruses come from websites you visit, rately come through a firewall - Hence, why you (and your ISP) have a firewall in the first place.
Moderating behind the bushes!

User avatar
Ornsack
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1520
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2002 11:43 pm
Location: Bristol, England
Contact:

RE: Is your editing computer connected to the

Post by Ornsack » Sun Jul 15, 2007 1:21 am

I have a few computers, all connected to the internet.

I visit the same old 6 websites and don't really venture anywhere dodgy online, so luckily I've never had much problem with viruses (had the odd one in the 10 years I've had the internet but all removed instantly without any damage)
[url=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=loFABl-1Zcw]THE SALESMAN - YouTube[/url]

User avatar
El Brenty
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2030
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2003 8:37 pm
Location: Esher, Surrey, Land Of Hope And Glory
Contact:

RE: Is your editing computer connected to the

Post by El Brenty » Thu Jul 19, 2007 8:13 pm

How are you supposed to validate or register software if your computer isn't connected to the internet these days?
Moderating behind the bushes!

User avatar
kene555
Forum Addict
Forum Addict
Posts: 576
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 2:06 pm
Location: North East Ohio, USA
Contact:

RE: Is your editing computer connected to the

Post by kene555 » Thu Jul 19, 2007 9:02 pm

I believe you can still do it by phone...when I have to validate programs, I'll connect the DSL just for that, then take it out again.

But phone is the only way...how old fashioned!
CREATE FOR THE SAKE OF CREATING

http://www.neighborhoodstudios.com

User avatar
El Brenty
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2030
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2003 8:37 pm
Location: Esher, Surrey, Land Of Hope And Glory
Contact:

RE: Is your editing computer connected to the

Post by El Brenty » Fri Jul 20, 2007 9:45 am

Indeed, you need to get with the times.
Moderating behind the bushes!

User avatar
kene555
Forum Addict
Forum Addict
Posts: 576
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 2:06 pm
Location: North East Ohio, USA
Contact:

RE: Is your editing computer connected to the

Post by kene555 » Fri Jul 20, 2007 1:09 pm

Ha...I could connect, we have an extra DSL available, I believe. I just don't want to take the chance, no matter how minuscule it may be.

I know you guys have your editing computer on the net and you've probably never had a problem, but when I used the family computer, someone was playing an online game, and downloaded some stuff...had to wipe the drive, and lost my video.

So I'll accept the inconvenience of having to switch computers to go online.
CREATE FOR THE SAKE OF CREATING

http://www.neighborhoodstudios.com

User avatar
Gyro
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 1348
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2003 4:18 am
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Contact:

Re: RE: Is your editing computer connected to the

Post by Gyro » Sun Jul 22, 2007 2:12 am

Ornsack wrote:I have a few computers, all connected to the internet.

I visit the same old 6 websites and don't really venture anywhere dodgy online, so luckily I've never had much problem with viruses (had the odd one in the 10 years I've had the internet but all removed instantly without any damage)
Same here... same here.
@seanbagley

redkorn
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 159
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 8:34 pm

RE: Re: RE: Is your editing computer connected to the

Post by redkorn » Sun Jul 22, 2007 6:51 am

My editing is done on a labtop which is not connected to the net and my desktop is connected to the net.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest