How about these...?

Post all your general non-film related PC and Mac stuff here.

Moderators: Admin, Moderator Team

Post Reply
MFM
Member
Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 12:09 pm

How about these...?

Post by MFM » Tue May 08, 2007 4:57 pm

What do u guys think about these laptops..I need to run Adobe premiere 2.0,after effects,audition,encore!!

Which one wuld be the best one??

(1) http://www.comet.co.uk/cometbrowse/prod ... sku=373222

(2) http://www.comet.co.uk/cometbrowse/prod ... sku=379891

(3) http://www.comet.co.uk/cometbrowse/prod ... sku=384020


1,2 or 3??

Cant afford any more than these!! :( :oops:

User avatar
Jperson
Forum Addict
Forum Addict
Posts: 699
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2006 8:54 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

RE: How about these...?

Post by Jperson » Tue May 08, 2007 5:22 pm

They're all running Vista, so you know my opinion...very second/third rate. :D
[url=http://tinite.com][img]http://onstoryline.com/Atinitefilmsstrip.gif[/img][/url]

User avatar
kene555
Forum Addict
Forum Addict
Posts: 576
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 2:06 pm
Location: North East Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by kene555 » Tue May 08, 2007 11:42 pm

Definitely not the first one. Least amount of RAM, so the obvious choice is between the latter.

The 3rd has a faster processor than all, so go for that one.

Of course, when editing video, get the best processor, graphics card, RAM, and HD that you can afford.

If you can save up 30 more pounds, go for this one
http://search.euro.dell.com/results.as ... 01&cat=all
CREATE FOR THE SAKE OF CREATING

http://www.neighborhoodstudios.com

jp575
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2006 9:09 pm

Post by jp575 » Wed May 09, 2007 5:52 am

Do you need a laptop? If not get a desktop its much cheaper and you will get better performance.


For the laptops

Quite frankly none of those laptops are good for editing. Well maybe basic editing but since you are using that production studio then its not basic. That suite of software is 20gigs already and all those laptops have only 80gigs of storage.

If you edit and want good quality you are gonna be bringing in large video files. External hdd's are an option but thats gonna be slow.

In short for that amount of money you cannot get a laptop that will give you the performance you want.

Um you can get a pretty good desktop for £400.
for a desktop try:

e6400-proc
2 gigs ram
at least 320hdd
you don't need a good video card unless ur doing 3d graphics like maya

-As of NOW vista actually is quite a bit slower than xp for video encoding so i suggest you just use xp as there really is no real gain from getting vista other than eye candy.

Even better option
-Don't get a new pc.

You must be running a pc right now and i bet its not a laptop if you're running those adobe programs.

Why not upgrade it with some more ram or more ram+better processor---that option will cost you a lot less than getting a new laptop and will be more powerful

-good luck







What current system are you running that software on?

MFM
Member
Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 12:09 pm

Post by MFM » Wed May 09, 2007 11:49 am


User avatar
foxwood
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 2446
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2003 8:20 pm
Location: Vrigina Commonwelth University
Contact:

Post by foxwood » Wed May 09, 2007 3:46 pm

thats better but your better off staying away from a laptop for editting unless you absolutly need to have a laptop.

MFM
Member
Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 12:09 pm

Post by MFM » Wed May 09, 2007 4:44 pm

The only reason im buyin a laptop is bcos the film is goin to be shot in the UK and Mauritius(near south africa)
I would b easier to carry and very Handy!!

thnks

jp575
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2006 9:09 pm

Post by jp575 » Thu May 10, 2007 6:41 am

The only reason im buyin a laptop is bcos the film is goin to be shot in the UK and Mauritius(near south africa)
I would b easier to carry and very Handy!!

thnks
Im assuming your footage is sd right? If its hdv then a laptop for your price range is out of the question.

Assuming its sd

I think this is pretty good with the exception of only 80gigs of storage:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6834115356
----------

For a little more money these will make your editing much faster and allow for easier editing of hdv.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6834147370
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6834147343

Yeeeeah

What's your current system specs?
do you need to edit on your film location too?[/quote]

MFM
Member
Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 12:09 pm

Post by MFM » Thu May 10, 2007 10:02 am

I wont intall any of the softwares on my pc...
I want to edit part of it there just incase other things need to be shot(f i missed out sumthin)
If not i can just get a desktop n edit here in UK n get as many shot as possibl in Mauritius!

Thnx

User avatar
foxwood
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 2446
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2003 8:20 pm
Location: Vrigina Commonwelth University
Contact:

Post by foxwood » Thu May 10, 2007 10:06 am

I would just get a desk top and shoot the hell out of what you do in Mauritius, I mean its digital just shoot away. Also if you seem to be light something it presents a good editting exersise. Also I wouldn't buy a computer for one thing, its good to invest in those things.

MFM
Member
Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 12:09 pm

Post by MFM » Thu May 10, 2007 10:14 am

Is there anyway u can bring ur deskstop abroad??
without it gettin SMASHED!!

User avatar
Nba185
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 190
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2006 1:26 am

Post by Nba185 » Thu May 10, 2007 10:31 am

i'd say the 2nd one. my friend had major problems with acer.
myspace.com/minshproductions
myspace.com/minsh_com

Selling adobe softwares. PM for more info.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests