Dual Boot?

Post all your general non-film related PC and Mac stuff here.

Moderators: Admin, Moderator Team

Post Reply
MFM
Member
Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 12:09 pm

Dual Boot?

Post by MFM » Mon Apr 02, 2007 7:47 pm

Hey,

I was wondering if u can use MAC on Windows. I've got a Windows Laptop and I want to use Final Cut Express bcos rite now im using Sony Vegas. Ive done some reasearch i found out that ou can have Dual boot.....Does that mean I can use MAC on my XP laptop?? I dont really like sony vegas I prefer Final Cut Express Any idea if its possible...If yes how much will it cost to do that??

Thnks!

Darzeth
Member
Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 3:46 am

RE: Dual Boot?

Post by Darzeth » Mon Apr 02, 2007 9:01 pm

I thought they had a version of Final cut express for windows. I use adovbe premiere myself but that doenst help you now does it. Someone may give you a better answer but get a mac execute program for windows based users. Sadly mac always seem to have the better pgorams and its annoying trying to get the program to work on windows.

MFM
Member
Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 12:09 pm

RE: Dual Boot?

Post by MFM » Mon Apr 02, 2007 9:08 pm

Yeah I think final cut express is much better than sony vegas somehow MAC mange to do better editing softwares than windows

User avatar
Epsilon
Forum Master
Forum Master
Posts: 3897
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2003 4:13 am
Location: Orange County, California
Contact:

RE: Dual Boot?

Post by Epsilon » Tue Apr 03, 2007 1:36 am

I've started playing with Final Cut Pro lately. I don't see how one can make such generic comparisons, and say one's just better than the other. From My experience, both programs can do almost the exact same things. You just need more experience in one or the other. Also, Windows and MAC are operating systems. They don't make the software.

I still can't get over the lack of a right mouse button, though. I use it so much in Windows! :D

User avatar
maj_barnes
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 1545
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2005 2:09 am
Location: Orlando, FL

RE: Dual Boot?

Post by maj_barnes » Tue Apr 03, 2007 4:16 am

I still can't get over the lack of a right mouse button, though. I use it so much in Windows!
They do sell mouses with a two buttons for Mac's, just have to find 'em!

User avatar
DEDFX
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 1228
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 5:59 pm
Location: eastern MA
Contact:

RE: Dual Boot?

Post by DEDFX » Tue Apr 03, 2007 4:43 am

I have one but it's just a cheap Logitech.

User avatar
angusware
Posting Freak
Posting Freak
Posts: 272
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 12:38 am

RE: Dual Boot?

Post by angusware » Tue Apr 03, 2007 12:16 pm

all current apple mice have a right-click, along with two other buttons...

User avatar
Gyro
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 1348
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2003 4:18 am
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Contact:

RE: Dual Boot?

Post by Gyro » Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:39 pm

You can't run OSX on a PC application, the firmware is designed specifically and preinstalled on the logiboard the comes specifically with Apple made products.

BUT! On the other hand you can run windows on OSX, or with Parellel desktops, you can run both at the same time. Gotta tell ya, it feels ever so satisfying to control Microsoft in my own hands with my dual core iMac, as opposed to it controlling me, which it had done everyday for my entire life for the past ten years.
@seanbagley

User avatar
angusware
Posting Freak
Posting Freak
Posts: 272
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 12:38 am

RE: Dual Boot?

Post by angusware » Thu Apr 12, 2007 11:15 pm

Amen. A couple of guys did get OSX running on a pc but you'd have to hack the cr** out of our computer and your OS, so not reccommended unless you have a couple other computers lying around...

User avatar
Jperson
Forum Addict
Forum Addict
Posts: 699
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2006 8:54 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

RE: Dual Boot?

Post by Jperson » Fri Apr 13, 2007 7:17 pm

Just by a Mac. And by the way Gyro ("so, Windows and MAC are operating systems. They don't make the software."). I think you'll find Apple do make Final Cut Pro. Also Windows make a bunch of cr**.

ALSO! All Macs and Apple desktops (I'm not sure about laptops) come with a 4 button mouse + a 360 degree mouse. :D It's called the...

Mighty Mouse! :D
[url=http://tinite.com][img]http://onstoryline.com/Atinitefilmsstrip.gif[/img][/url]

User avatar
Zacatac927
Forum Addict
Forum Addict
Posts: 588
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2005 7:34 pm
Contact:

Re: RE: Dual Boot?

Post by Zacatac927 » Fri Apr 13, 2007 8:41 pm

Epsilon wrote:
I still can't get over the lack of a right mouse button, though. I use it so much in Windows! :D
hahaha!

I just spend the last school year, two hours a day in school learning Final Cut, and it is very supreior to PPro

User avatar
Gyro
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 1348
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2003 4:18 am
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Contact:

Re: RE: Dual Boot?

Post by Gyro » Sat Apr 14, 2007 5:13 am

Jperson wrote:And by the way Gyro ("so, Windows and MAC are operating systems. They don't make the software."). I think you'll find Apple do make Final Cut Pro. Also Windows make a bunch of cr**.
I have no idea what you just said.
@seanbagley

User avatar
angusware
Posting Freak
Posting Freak
Posts: 272
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 12:38 am

RE: Re: RE: Dual Boot?

Post by angusware » Sat Apr 14, 2007 6:13 am

^ Yeah, where'd that quote come from anyway?

User avatar
Jperson
Forum Addict
Forum Addict
Posts: 699
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2006 8:54 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

RE: Re: RE: Dual Boot?

Post by Jperson » Sun Apr 15, 2007 12:21 pm

Woops, I mean Epsilon, sorry. :D 4th Post down. I was just pointing out that actually the companies that make the operating system do actually also make software.
[url=http://tinite.com][img]http://onstoryline.com/Atinitefilmsstrip.gif[/img][/url]

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest